Tanzania is a linguistically diverse country with over 120 ethnic groups, each having its own language or dialect.

The official language of Tanzania is Swahili, also known as Kiswahili. Swahili serves as a lingua franca and is widely spoken and understood across the country.

Swahili originated as a Bantu language but has been greatly influenced by Arabic, Persian, and other languages due to historical trade connections along the Swahili Coast. It is also the language of instruction in schools and universities, making it an important medium of communication in various domains.

English is also widely used in Tanzania, especially in business, government, and education. It serves as a second official language and is spoken by a significant portion of the population.

English is commonly taught in schools and is the primary language of instruction in higher education institutions.

Scroll to Top